Anger and ???

I’m an angry man. 

I’m beginning to realize that. Or accept what I hear people say.

I’m not certain I have a reason to be as angry as I used to.

I’ve a brother second to none, a lady I could have only dreamt of, step kids who…who are kids as best as kids can be.

I’m employed by a good firm who challenges my skills and who pays me well.

I have a circle of friends all of whom I cherish… Yes, you too.

But.

I scowl. 

My “go to” is anger, mistrust and, ultimately, fear.

Mostly anger.

See, anger has been my friend for decades. It’s protected me, kept strangers away, assured my safety when I was homeless. Anger became natural.

Anger became comfortable.

I don’t need that protection today, my life is good.

I am safe.

I am rebuilding the wreckage of the past. ….. To the best of my ability.

Anger no longer needs to be my refuge.

Maybe just an old friend you call up when you really need him.

Leave a comment